Penalties For Misdemeanor Assault In Texas Explained
Any criminal charge should be taken seriously as a conviction can not only come with penalties but also blemish a person’s record. When a person establishes a criminal history, this can haunt them by following them for the rest of their lives, impacting their future prospects. For example, a criminal history may jeopardize obtaining a loan or being accepted into one’s school of choice.
When it comes to battery or the act of willful and unlawful violence against a person, a misdemeanor conviction can result in any one of three outcomes depending on what category the crime is placed in. Misdemeanor battery charges are split into Class C, B, and A, with Class A having the harshest penalties.
If you have been arrested and charged with misdemeanor battery, or misdemeanor assault, then you must have a compelling and strategic legal defense lined up to combat those charges. For help building a defense that gives you the best chances of securing the most desirable outcome, please consider connecting with a Texas assault attorney at The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC.
What Are the Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault in Texas?
Misdemeanor assault in Texas is serious, and depending on what level you are charged with, you can face major repercussions. Consider the following penalty categories under Texas’s assault laws.
- Class C misdemeanor assault is the lowest charge for the crime. When a threat of causing physical harm or an action where contact is made with another party that insinuates harm, a hefty $500 fine can be levied.
- Class B misdemeanor assault happens when there is a physical strike against another person playing a sport. This offense comes with jail time of as many as 180 days and a fine that can be as high as $2,000.
- Class A misdemeanor assault has the harshest penalties. Here, physical bodily harm is caused by one person to another or when an older adult is harmed by offensive contact. Jail time can soar up to one year with fines as much as $4,000.
Misdemeanor crimes can have grave consequences. Though, if a crime is elevated to a felony offense, these penalties are increased substantially. For example, felony assault convictions could result in a defendant spending many years behind bars and being liable for paying a fine of $10,000.
It is essential that when you are being charged with assault in Texas, you take action quickly and arm yourself with an attorney that knows the law and can help you protect yourself. Your attorney can investigate your case to establish a solid defense that puts you in the best position to overcome such a precarious situation.
Speak to a Criminal Defense Attorney in Texas Today
Temple criminal defense attorney Katie L. Gomez can help you when you are facing serious criminal charges like misdemeanor assault. Do not attempt to navigate the criminal justice system alone. Call attorney Gomez today to schedule a free initial consultation where you can go over your case at (254) 330-3214.