Bell County Open Carry & Concealed Carry Attorney
Texas is one of the most permissive states in the US when it comes to open and concealed carry laws, but statistics reveal that law enforcement still cracks down on violations. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), officials arrest almost 14,000 people every year for weapons offenses. The misconduct ranges from unlawful possession by a felon, prohibited firearms, and carrying a gun in a prohibited place. However, the statutes covering open and concealed carry are what can lead to legal trouble you did not expect.
At The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC, our team has in-depth knowledge of Texas gun laws and extensive experience defending those accused of breaking them. A conviction impacts your personal freedoms and rights, so you will need skilled legal help with fighting the charges. Please contact our firm to set up a free consultation with a Bell County open & concealed carry violation attorney right away. You can also check out some important background information.
Synopsis of Texas Carry Laws
You could be arrested on weapons charges for violating statutes on manufacturing, possession, transportation, or use of firearms; however, the Texas Unlawful Carrying Weapons (UCW) specifically targets the holding of guns on or about your person. It is a crime to intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly carry a handgun if:
- You are younger than 21 years old; or
- You were convicted of certain offenses within the last five years. The UCW statute lists assault, terroristic threats, and disorderly conduct involving a firearm.
As of September 2021, you are not required to have a permit for concealed carry if no part of the firearm is visible. For open carry, the gun must be in a holster. Note that there are certain places where you are prohibited from carrying regardless of licensing, such as bars, secure areas of airports, racetracks, and schools.
How a Bell County UCW Defense Lawyer Can Help
A violation of Texas statutes on open and concealed carry is a Class A Misdemeanor in most cases. If convicted, you face up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine. If you are a person who is prohibited from possessing a firearm because of an assault conviction, the offense is a Second Degree Felony. The mandatory minimum sentence is 5 years in prison, but the judge could order up to 20 years’ imprisonment.
Retaining an experienced attorney is instrumental in fighting the charges, and The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC is prepared to:
- Represent you during your arraignment;
- Assist with motions, pretrial proceedings, and court appearances; and
- Pursue all defense options, including a dismissal, acquittal, plea bargain, or other favorable outcome.
Our Bell County Open Carry/Concealed Carry Violations Attorneys
To learn more about how our team can help with UCW cases, please contact The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC in Temple, TX. You can schedule a complimentary consultation by calling 254-330-3214 or visiting our website. A Bell County open and concealed carry violations lawyer can advise you on defense options after assessing your case.