Domestic Bell County Domestic Violence Attorney
An act of assault on another person is always illegal, but your situation could be significantly more complicated when the conduct amounts to domestic violence. The Texas statute on domestic assault covers conduct ranging from threats and offensive conduct to serious bodily injury and choking, and it applies to family members and many other individuals with whom you have a personal relationship. Plus, these cases are usually linked to an order of protection, a civil remedy that accusers may seek to guard against further altercations. Along with facing misdemeanor or felony charges, you might have to defend yourself in an injunction case.
Considering the ramifications of a domestic assault arrest, retaining skilled legal help is critical. The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC has extensive experience representing clients accused of family violence, so you can trust our team to develop a solid defense strategy. Please contact us to schedule a no-cost consultation with a Bell County domestic violence attorney today. An overview of the laws may also be helpful.
Criminal Charges for Domestic Violence
The criminal case for domestic assault is what follows an arrest, not to be confused with an order of protection proceeding. In criminal proceedings, the government is the plaintiff, represented by a prosecutor who must prove all elements of the case beyond a reasonable doubt to get a conviction. The prosecution will rely heavily on testimony by your accuser; however, the victim is not a party to the case.
The penalties for a conviction on domestic violence charges range according to the severity of the charges, but the basic offense is a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine. Certain factors lead to more serious charges, including cases where:
- The victim suffered bodily harm or serious injuries;
- You have a history of similar offenses;
- You are accused of choking the victim; or
- You were alleged to have used a deadly weapon.
These allegations involve felony domestic violence, for which the penalties increase significantly. The mandatory minimum for a conviction is 2 years, but the judge could sentence up to 99 years or life in prison for a First Degree Felony.
How to Protect Your Rights
Immediately upon being arrested, make it a priority to contact a Bell County domestic violence lawyer. Since there can be considerable confusion at the scene, it is also crucial to understand what you can do to support the team at The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC. Some tips include:
- Never resist arrest.
- Do not speak to police or answer questions, even to profess your innocence.
- Avoid communicating with your accuser at the scene, as you could make incriminating statements that impact your case.
A Bell County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Will Protect Your Rights
If you were arrested for domestic assault in Texas, please contact The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC right away to set up a free consultation. You can reach our Temple, TX location by calling 254-330-3214 or checking out our website. A Bell County domestic assault lawyer can advise you after reviewing your circumstances.