Bell County Assault Attorney
All offenses against the person are treated seriously under Texas law, and assault is one of the most commonly charged crimes in the state. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), police arrest around 104,000 people every year for aggravated and simple assault, comprising approximately 1 in every 5 criminal cases. Even a mere threat can lead to misdemeanor charges, but you could also face a felony for certain types of assault. Considering the severe penalties for a conviction, retaining legal help is a priority.
At The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC, our team has extensive experience representing those accused of assault. We are ready to fight for your rights and develop a defense strategy that supports your interests. Please contact our firm to set up a free consultation with a Bell County assault defense attorney who can explain the laws. It is also important to understand what to expect with the criminal process.
Elements the Prosecutor Must Prove
The government must prove certain sets of facts, beyond a reasonable doubt, to secure a conviction in a criminal case. A person could be found guilty for committing three acts:
- Causing bodily injury to another person;
- Threatening someone with imminent bodily harm; or
- Making offensive or provocative physical conduct with a person.
Note that the statute on assault includes an element that refers to the state of mind of the defendant: The government must show that you acted intentionally, knowingly, and/or recklessly in committing the above acts. In addition, keep in mind that you could face aggravated assault charges if you used a deadly weapon or caused serious injury to the victim.
Penalties for an Assault Conviction
For the versions of the crime described by #2 and #3 above, you could face a Class C Misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine. An assault under #1 is a Class A Misdemeanor, for which a judge could order a year in jail and $4,000 fine.
Assault is a felony based upon aggravating factors, the identity of the victim, your criminal history, and other factors. Our Bell County assault defense attorneys at The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC are also prepared to fight such charges as:
- Third Degree Felony assault, which could lead to a minimum of 2 and maximum of 10 years in prison, plus a $10,000 fine;
- A Second Degree Felony, including choking assault, punishable by up to 20 years’ imprisonment; and
- First Degree Felony assault, for which a judge could order up to 99 years or life in prison.
Consult with a Bell County Assault Defense Attorney Today
Considering the penalties and collateral consequences, you can see the importance of retaining legal representation to fight assault charges. The Law Office of Katie L. Gomez, PLLC will be at your side to assist with the criminal process, so please contact our Temple, TX law firm today. You can call 254-330-3214 or go online to set up a free consultation with a Bell County assault defense attorney.